All caught up!

(So you get a wall of text~)

It took me nearly two and a half years to do so. I have no idea if that’s considered fast or slow, but I do feel a sense of accomplishment hohoho~ I honestly never thought I would get to this point. With my track record of dropping things midway (re: my original writing projects), and my almost non-existent skill in translation when I started, I was so very sure this was going to be a short stint, but hey, surprise surprise…

But first, thank you everyone for giving my translation a chance. Especially to the people who commented ❀ ❀ ❀

Thank you so much, editor-chan who wishes to stay anonymous, for editing the latter half of arc 6 to the first half of arc 8 for me. And to a number of others who kindly pointed out typos and grammar errors and offered stylistic suggestions in the comments, and through email πŸ™‚

Special thanks to Ranissir, Dave, Remy, lenula1, Ninny, and 7 anonymous others for donating me Ko-Fi! They actually helped a lot with giving me motivation, not gonna lie.

I appreciate you all so, so much ❀

Actually, I’ve never translated anything before this. Do tell me, how did I go? Anything I need to improve on as an amateur translator? I’m curious.

So, it’s official (for now). The English translation of Kusuriya no Hitorigoto WN is now caught up with the Japanese raws. (And the LN still hasn’t been licensed yet..it would be nice if i could translate it officially. if only I had the skill…) I have no idea when there will be new updates, so the waiting game has started. It’ll probably be after the release of LN 9.

As for my plans for now, well. I’ve been almost translating nonstop for these past two-ish years, so I’m gonna take my long awaited break (finishing off my degree). Hopefully I don’t get too comfortable with my break… If you never hear from me ever again after this post, well, you know what happened.

Maybe in the meantime, to starve off that possibility, I could pick up a new project. Note that if I do pick up a new project, it probably won’t be on Creative Novels. Reason being that site only allows webnovels, and I haven’t found a webnovel I like enough to want to translate under CrN’s terms (i.e. a fixed schedule). Maybe if you give me suggestions, I can reconsider, but for now, I don’t have anything in mind. (Also cause I haven’t been entirely happy with the commenting system there. Too bad.)

Light novels, on the other hand, I have a couple in mind. You guys up for another story that’s set in the Chinese imperial harem (still a mystery, but with a slight paranormal twist)? Something else by the same author of Kusuriya? A completely different genre? How about a dark fantasy in a western setting for a complete change of mood? Something else? Convince me πŸ˜€ It has to have some elements of fantasy and mystery to interest me.

Also, I don’t know if people noticed, but I’ve been playing around with the links on this site. So if you do find something new that wasn’t on the site before, enjoy. I only have plans for the first one, btw. It’ll be like a taster course, yes, a teaser, if you may. I know I talked about retranslanting the beginning half of the novel due to its poor readability, so take this as my alternative answer for you. I’m sure most of you would prefer this instead, no? Let me know your thoughts about the changes in the comment section of the relevant page. Since I’m starting again from the top, I won’t be listing out the changes. I’ll be going at it at my own pace, and I’ll write up a post once I finish the entire thing–but feel free to check the relevant page every now and then since I’ll be updating the links whenever I’m done with a chapter. It just won’t be announced.

As usual, the same rules apply for LN stuff: not on NovelUpdates. Not even a new page. Let this be a surprise for people who like to dig around πŸ˜‰ Whatever’s on this wordpress, stays on this wordpress. If I see them anywhere else, even translated into another language (I’m not as fussed with the WN version on CrN, on the other hand), I’ll be taking them down, stat.

TL;DR – I caught up, now to sleep until the next chapter drops.

25 thoughts on “All caught up!

    1. My votes for Koukyuu no Karasu. Maomao’s story has caused me to develop a interest in these kinds of historical fantasy china like settings. Though not been able find any that really measured up in the right way to Kusuriya no Hitorigoto.

      Like

  1. Thank you for translating this series as I’m sure many others I really love this series and the adventures of our miss catcat and the far to slow burn romance with a certain guy. Enjoy your rest but here’s hoping there isn’t to great a gap between WN releases and you are able start back up when there is. Also hoping you’ll be able do another LN excerpt when the new volume comes out as so many of us want to know what happened after the last one. The quality of the translations have significantly improved over time and come to feel much more natural than they once were.

    Btw did end up buying the last alchemist LN with it far to many delays on preorder before finally got released.

    Also since it doesn’t hurt to at least ask is there any way of being able get a downloadable version of all the currently done chapters on the off chance that the series get deleted from online somehow? It’s understandable if can’t.

    Like

    1. Of the alchemist novel or kusuriya? I have all the chapters I’ve ever translated for both novels backed-up on this site in case CrN ever decides to delete them. I don’t have access to the chapters done by the other translators though; you’ll have to ask them.

      As for a downloadable version, I know there are people who make epubs/pdfs on the internet (without permission and all), but since I update the older chapters pretty often, they’re all outdated anyways.

      Personally I don’t want them downloaded, but if you really want, you can ask me if/when they’re taken down. I can give you access to the files on google docs. Just email me for the folder πŸ™‚

      Btw, how’s the LN? I didn’t get it since I already have a copy in Japanese.

      Like

      1. Ah I meant kusuriya. Thought that might be confusing after I had already posted it. Ya figured there probably be issues with giving out downloadable version while it is still posted online. The series just have such a good reread value I’d hate to lose the chance to read it again (already have a few times.) if it ever did go off line. Even more so considering the WN seems to differ fairly significantly from the LN assuming the LN ever does get licensed.

        So far the alchemist seems good. Haven’t noticed any obvious mistakes or over localization. I actually got into using a text to speech browser plug in for reading stories online. The one I use can even turn the pages on the kindle online reader and have different voices and accents..

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Koukyou no Karasu for me. I will really miss KnH it’s become something I look forward to every Monday now that I am continuing my Bachelor’s degree. And thank you so much for all your hard work Aurica!

    Like

      1. Just a quick question, are you going to be translating any other stuff from the LN? I really want to know what happens during that tickle scene (and any other juicy moments that happen in the LN).

        Like

  3. Looking forward for Koukyou no Karasu! And will be patient because the teaser is 1/4 of the book.

    I would like Saihate no Palladin, but it’s licensed. (It got better chance for the comic to be translated than the novel in my country…) It’s such a great story…

    Like

    1. o7 I’m taking a break from translating first, so it’ll probably be late November or early December when I get to it ☺️

      Yeah, not translating licensed stuff. JNC is super fast anyways πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. If you are up for another chinese imperial harem WN or LN, I know of a few, but I doubt you would be interested since they are erotic and usually involve consensual sex outside of marriage with strangers.

    Like

  5. Well, I hope you enjoy your break, AuriCa.
    Thank for your hard work until now.

    Oh, and Koukyuu no Karasu sounds really good!

    Like

  6. There is this light novel series that I really liked, it’s called Sugar Apple Fairytale. It has been translated up to the 3rd volume and dropped and since then no one has bothered to pick it up, which in my opinion is a real shame.

    The basic premise of the story is this: In the Kingdom of Highland, a country where fairies are slaves of the humans, Ann Halford, a Candy Craftswoman, decides to purchase one in order to arrive the once-yearly Candy Fair to achieve the title of Silver Sugar Master.

    It’s basically a very fluffy and touching story about this snarky but secretly-totaly-a-tsundere fairy prince with a single wing and a hardworking protagonist. Each volume reads as a standalone.

    There has been a manga adaptation of the first volume. Even if you do not end up picking this one up I highly recommend checking it out anyway, just for yourself. ^^

    Like

Leave a comment